Dry brushing your skin

     Ever heard of dry brushing?  Most people have and it is something I have been wanting to try for a long time.  Before doing a body treatments at school we brush the skin vigorously to stimulate the skin.  Does it work? I have no clue I can only assume.  But I did a search on this technique and have found that there are many benefits to dry brushing your entire body. 

     Since the skin is the largest organ of the body it only makes sense to take care of it the same way we take care of the rest of our body. The skin is responsible for about a quarter of our bodies daily detoxification.  It eliminates over a pound of waste products on average.  So basically we are walking around and shedding.  When reading the fact that, the skin is the last to receive nutrients in the body but the first to show signs of and imbalance, I knew I was ready to try this.  

I headed over to bed bath and beyond and picked out a brush.  Super cheap too think it was like $4.99.  So I went home and was like great now what?!  So before taking a shower i just casually brushed my skin.  Later while laying in bed I thought there has to be a system or an order in which you apply the massage/brushing. Give me a protocol!!  Back to the net I went.  I found hundreds of how to books that I was not willing to wait to be mailed out to me.  I read about two doctors one from Europe and one from the US that were highly recommended but could not for the life of me find their technique. Finally I found a website http://greensmoothiegirl.com/ who had a wonderful step by step tutorial on how to dry brushed based off of the Euro Doctor.  Basically brushing in the way your lymphatic system runs. DUH! I tried it again last night.  Felt like I was actually doing something here!  After I was done I jumped in the shower and while washing up I realized most of these moves is the way you wash your body. I can do this!

They say it takes about a month to see a difference meaning tighter skin, tone muscles, reduction in cellulite, etc.   I usually give up on things like that sooner because I need instant gratification But seeing that the only other activity i provide my skin is ribbing lotion on I will definitely continue to dry brush for at least a month!

Leave a Reply

